top of page

"But I could never move to London..."


I know, I know...this is a few months later than I wanted to share this BUT it finally came together! Brenden and I traveled overseas together this spring to London. It was his first time out of the country and my first time in the UK. The jet lag was kind of difficult to adjust to but we still managed to have fun despite being tired at 6pm London time. We spent a week there and got to see a good amount of attractions but there was just so much area to cover.

We got to London with about half a day left to explore but decided to take the night to relax. We walked around the area to grab something to eat (we definitely hit Nando's lol) and rested up to wake up early the next morning. Our stops for Day 1 included Westminister Abby, Kensington Palace, Pret, and The Churchill Arms with some wandering between each location.

Day 2 was a short one since I died half way through the day. We hit Abbey Road and took a billion shots of me trying to walk across the street. Then we hit Camden Market which was really overwhelming to be honest. It was a lot like Chelsea Market or Smorgasburg but BIGGER. After that we took the rest of the day easy and did some light exploring around the neighborhood. Found a few really awesome and colorful walls. I of course had Brenden take my photo in front of them. We had dinner at this really awesome fast casual place called The Japanese Kanteen. It was everything you could want at a Japanese restaurant but you were able to take it to go if you wanted! The noodles + bento boxes seemed to be the best value for your money.

We got our day started on Day 3 with some Afternoon Tea. I had found quite a few popular spots but all of them seemed really expensive for what they were offering and also really far out of the way from the places we wanted to go to. After a deep dive, I found this quaint little spot called the Zetter Townhouse that was a hotel but also a great place for afternoon tea. The hospitality was amazing and all of the food was top notch. Highly recommend it if you're trying to get the most for your money! The entire aesthetic was so cozy too.

After a great meal, we ventured to the British Museum. Holy smokes, that place is HUGE not to mention the lobby area is absolutely BEAUTIFUL.

Once we wrapped up our time at the museum, we stopped at a few tourist shops to grab trinkets. Enamel pins are stupid cheap in London for some reason. I definitely copped one too many but they made great gifts to give to friends. Before we ended the day we stopped by Picadilly Circus during golden hour and wandered around Chinatown for a bit (snagged some baos and fried rice as a midnight snack). The one thing about traveling though is that I somehow always run into familiar faces no matter how far away from NY I am. My pals in Can't Swim happened to be playing London while we were there. I had to at least say hi so I caught them at Nando's. AND on my way out we ran into the Chris' of Save Face. Small world.

Day 4 was some what of a wash to be honest. The weather was just so humid and dreary. We went to the Museum of Natural History which was incredible from the outside. The architecture was stunning BUT the actual content inside was kind of a letdown compared to NY's version (I'm just sad their dinos were not as impressive). We also had Nando's (again) after this. I remembered to document it before eating it too quickly.

After filling up our bellies we wandered around a bit and headed back to the Picadilly area to meet up with one of my colleagues who manages a few bands I've shot. We got there a little bit early so we walked around this small garden/park that was filled with beautiful flowers.

It was a long day but it had finally come to a close. We grabbed dinner at this seafood spot near our hotel called Wrights Brothers. The presentation was on point but their crab meat lacked something. It was just bland and didn't really hit the way it should.

The one thing people are not wrong about when they talk about the weather in London is that it always RAINS. Our morning on Day 5 started with a bit of a drizzle as we made our way to breakfast/bruch with Alex. I had beans and toast for the first time while Brenden got this massive pancake stack. Can't say that I would want to have beans and toast every day but it isn't bad. It just reminded me of pork and beans haha.

After that we headed to the London Eye so we could see London from above. It started to downpour as we made our way there. Although we had to walk across a bridge in the rain, the view was pretty sick. It reminded me of being on the ferris wheel at Santa Monica Beach.

Once we finished up at the London Eye we took a walk around the area despite the rain and then headed back to the hotel to take a rest before having a really sick dinner at this Asian spot. Unfortunately somehow there was dog poop at the entrance of this place and Brenden stepped in it.

After so many cool adventures in London, we were at our last day in this great city. We decided to skip Sky Garden (I was deeply saddened by this) and go to the Tower of London. There were so many places to explore here. We even got to see the Crown Jewels!! The overall architecture also made for some great photo ops.

Once you get out of the Tower of London you're let out near the Tower Bridge (not to be confused with the London Bridge which isn't nearly as photogenic).

We walked across Tower Bridge to the closest post office so Brenden could mail some post cards to his family. On the way we stopped for some lunch at this place that was basically the Dig Inn of London. It wasn't bad but they were all about the sauces there. The last stop we had was to go to Crosstown Doughnuts. I have been eyeing this place for at least a year. They were also one of the few places I came across that had matcha. I asked for some matcha over ice + water (which apparently isn't common) and got a donut. The girls at the shop was really inquisitive about my matcha choice but it made sense to them since another coworker usually drank theirs hot.

And that concludes our trip to London!! There is definitely a lot more that I want to see next time I visit and will be sure to buy more jeans from Primark since they don't sell that one style I like in the USA. Hope yall enjoyed the photos. Stay tuned for more travel blogs in the future.

bottom of page